Somewhere in Glacier View, Alaska

When I look at this photo it reminds me of how great this day was. It’s one of the many reasons I take photos everywhere I go. I like to reflect on things visually. Whether it be a picture, a list or journal entry. It’s the moments like these that make me one of the happiest girls in the world.

Whenever I look at this picture, what I think about was it’s spontaneity. Absolutely nothing was planned; no exact location, no time crunches, nothing. The best part about unplanned road trips is that we don’t have to be in a certain location by a certain time. It’s been awhile since we’ve had a day like this. Where we could stop whenever we wanted and just take everything around us all in. Just the two of us in the car listening to some playlist we created when we first started dating.

I remember Shawn waking me up with kisses and telling me to get ready to go because we were going on a drive. I remember the smile on his face when he knew he caught me off guard with this road trip. The day was warm enough for me to be out in only a sweater; there was no need for a winter coat. The skies were clear and bright. There wasn’t too much traffic getting out of the city it being a Sunday morning. It was the perfect day to get away without having to deal with speedy drivers trying to get to where they need to be as soon as possible. We got to go at our own pace. And that’s what I never want to forget. I don’t want to forget that it’s okay to do things at your own pace. The world is constantly moving, you don’t need to be another person rushing through life. I’m getting a little side tracked though.

I’ve seen pictures of Matanuska Glacier from friends and articles but never did I get to see it in person. I remember mentioning this to Shawn a few weeks before he surprised me with this trip. The glacier, even if we were far away from it was too beautiful to put into words. We knew that there were guided tours to the glacier and that you can literally stand beside and explore around it but we decided to plan that for another day.

I remember ending the day eating in a little diner in the middle of nowhere. The views from this diner were breathtaking. Mountains surrounding every area we looked. They had the best comfort food and to top it off, 50 cent coffee. Who could pass up 50 cent coffee?

This day in particular was one of the most simple yet amazing days we’ve had together. It’s all the little things that happened throughout the day that made it so memorable. It never ceases to put a smile on my face whenever I think about it. I can’t wait for all the other spontaneous trips that come our way!

Leave a Reply

